• Home/
  • Securities&Futures/
  • Futures Contracts

Securities&Futures

Futures Contracts

The trading of Hang Seng Index Futures and Option Contracts is very active, local and international investors are actively participating in trading these products.
We provide our clients the following index futures and options contracts of Hong Kong Futures Exchange Limited for trading, including

Futures

Hang Seng Index Futures, Mini – Hang Seng Index Futures

H – Shares Index Futures, Mini H – shares Index Futures

Options

Hang Seng Index Options, Mini – Hang Seng Index Options

H – Shares Index Options, Mini H – Shares Index Options

Morning Trading Session
Pre-opening Session
8:45:00 – 9:10:59 Accept Limit Order & Auction Order (Can modify and cancel orders)
9:11:00 – 9:12:59 Only accept Auction Order (Cannot modify and cancel any orders)
9:13:00 – 9:14:59 Open Allocation (Cannot place orders, cannel orders and modify orders )
Morning Session
9:15:00 – 12:00:00 Only accept Limit Order (Can place, cancel or modify orders)
Afternoon Trading Session
Pre-opening Session
12:30:00 – 12:55:59 Accept Limit Order & Auction Order (Can modify and cancel orders)
12:56:00 – 12:57:59 Only accept Auction Order (Cannot modify and cancel any orders)
12:58:00 – 12:59:59 Open Allocation (Cannot place orders, cannel orders and modify orders )
Afternoon Session
13:00:00 – 16:30:00 Only accept Limit Order (Can place, cancel or modify orders)
After Hours Futures Trading
After Hours Session
17:15 - 23:45 Only accept Limit Order (Can place, cancel or modify orders)

Note: No Pre-opening Session for Hang Seng Index Options, H – Shares Index Options, Mini – Hang Seng Index Options, Mini H – Shares Index Options

Margin Requirements

Clients must deposit sufficient initial margin required by HKFE before placing any orders. Margin requirements would be varied based on the market situations. Maintenance margin is 80% of the initial margin. If a client’s margin requirement is lower than its maintenance margin, the client should immediately deposit sufficient funds to recover the margin on or above the initial margin. Otherwise, we reserve the right to close the order(s) for a client without any notice in advance.

For trading option contracts, HKFE uses Standard Portfolio Analysis of Risk (SPAN) for calculating the real-time margin level. The margin level of a client’s position must satisfy real-time margin level. If a client’s position includes futures and options, the margin level of the position must meet the real-time margin level. If a client’s margin level is lower than real-time margin level, the client should immediately deposit sufficient funds to recover the margin on or above the real-time margin level. Otherwise, we reserve the right to close the order(s) for a client without any notice in advance.

Basic Knowledge of Futures Contracts

Futures Contracts

Futures Contracts is a kind of derivatives. Both (Buy and Sell) sides of futures contracts promise to buy or sell specific underlying with specific quantity and price in a specific date in the future. Now, not all the futures contracts are settled by underlying. For example, index futures are settled by cash generally.

Terms of Futures Contracts

There are many kinds of futures contracts, but they have some common characteristics. Most of the exchange traded futures contracts in the market have some frequent used terms:

Underlying:

Futures contracts can be linked up with different underlying assets. It includes stocks, indices, currencies, interest rates and even oil, beans, gold and so no. There are interest rate futures, forex futures, gold futures, stock futures and stock index futures (e.g. Hang Seng Index Futures).

Contract Price:

The price of a futures contract is registered in the clearing house, which is the negotiation price of a contract.

Contract Multiplier:

Contract value is calculated by the contract price multiplied by contract multiplier. Now, the contract multiplier of Hang Seng Index Futures and H – Shares Index Futures Contracts is HKD 50 per point; the contract multiplier of Mini Hang Seng Futures Contracts is HKD 10 per point. The underlying of a stock futures contract traded in HKEx is one lot related shares.

Last Trading Date:

The last day of a futures contract can be traded in an exchange.

Last Settlement Date:

The date that buy and sell sides will settle the futures contract.

Last Settlement Price:

It is used to calculate the settlement value of the futures contract which is determined by the clearing house. The final calculated value of the contracts is calculated by the settlement price multiplied by the contract multiplier.

Settlement Method:

Futures contracts could be settled by cash or related underlying. Many futures contracts traded in HKEx are settled by cash.

General Functions of Futures Contacts

There are three reasons for investors to trade futures contracts.

Trend of the Market:

If forecasting the market will go up, an investor may buy related futures contracts for investment. If the last settlement price is higher than the contract price, profit will be generated. On the other hand, if the price of the futures contract is higher than the contract price on or before the last trading date, profit could be earned that the contract will be sold to close the long position. On the contrary, if forecasting the market will go down, an investor may sell related futures contracts.

Hedge:

Hedge strategies are usually used to offset the negative factors affecting the return of the investment portfolio. If forecasting the price of the underlying will go down, an investor may use “short position hedge” strategy to sell moderate futures contracts to hedge the down side risks of the investment portfolio. If forecasting the price of the underlying will go up, an investor may use “long position hedge” strategy to buy related futures contracts to lock the price of related underlying assets. If the price of the underlying assets will go up, an investor can use the pre-determined price which is lower than the market price to buy related underlying assets.

By using futures contracts for hedging, an investor must remember that the underlying assets must be the same or almost the same as the assets in the investment portfolio, and the risks could be hedged effectively. For example, Hang Seng Futures Contracts is not a good tool to hedge the investment portfolio of non – Hang Seng Index Stocks.

Arbitrage:

Arbitrage is the profit could be earned from the unusual price difference between futures and cash market with buying low and selling high. To engage in arbitrage, an investor could trade contrarily in two markets at the same time.

Possible Negative Influence of Leverage Effect:

Futures contracts are leveraged investment tools. Return can be levered by the leverage times with leverage effect, but it may bring loss levered by the leverage times at the same time. An investor can earn considerable return levered by the leverage times in a short while with futures contracts trading, but it may bring significant loss with the same leverage times. As a result, futures contracts are more suitable for investors who have rich investment experience and strong self-discipline. An investor should soundly understand the characteristics and risks of futures contracts, ensure related futures contracts fit his/her financial situations and risk tolerances, or he/she should consult his/her professional investment consultant(s) first.

• 首頁/
  • 證券及期貨/
  • 期貨

證券及期貨

期貨

恆生指數期貨及期權合約交投相當活躍,受到本地和國際投資者歡迎。
本公司現時為客戶提供以下在香港期貨交易所交易的指數期貨及期權產品,包括:

期貨

恆生指數期貨、小型恆生指數期貨

H股指數期貨、小型H股指數期貨

期權

恆生指數期權、小型恆生指數期權

H股指數期權、小型H股指數期權

上午交易時段
開市前議價時段
8:45:00 - 9:10:59 接受限價盤(LO)及競價盤(AO) (可更改及取消買賣盤)
9:11:00 - 9:12:59 只接受競價盤(AO) (不可更改及取消任何盤)
9:13:00 - 9:14:59 交易所擬價時段 (不可落盤、取消盤或改盤)
持續交易時段
9:15:00 - 12:00:00 持續交易時段,只接受限價盤(LO) (可落盤、取消盤或改盤)
下午交易時段
開市前議價時段
12:30:00 - 12:55:59 接受限價盤(LO)及競價盤(AO) (可更改及取消買賣盤)
12:56:00 - 12:57:59 只接受競價盤(AO) (不可更改及取消任何盤)
12:58:00 - 12:59:59 交易所擬價時段 (不可落盤、取消盤或改盤)
持續交易時段
13:00:00 - 16:30:00 持續交易時段,只接受限價盤(LO) (可落盤、取消盤或改盤)
夜市交易時段
持續交易時段
17:15 - 23:45 持續交易時段,只接受限價盤(LO) (可落盤、取消盤或改盤)

注: 恆生指數期權、小型恆生指數期權、國指期權、小型國指期權沒有開市前議價時段

按金要求

買賣期貨前須預繳交易所規定足夠的初始按金,而按金會因應市況而調整。維持按金是初始按金的80%。如客戶的按金水平低於維持按金水平,需即時存入足夠款項,令戶口回復至初始按金水平或以上。否則,本公司有權無須事先通知而強制為客戶平倉。

買賣期權合約則以交易所的「標准組合風險分析」(SPAN) 按金計算方法計算出實時按金水平。客戶的持倉需時刻滿足該實時按金水平。如果倉位是期貨期權組合,整體按金水平也要時刻滿足其實時按金水平要求。如客戶的按金水平低於實時按金水平,需即時存入足夠款項,令戶口回復至實時按金水平要求或以上。否則,本公司有權無須事先通知而強制為客戶平倉。

期貨的基本知識

期貨合約

期貨合約是衍生工具的一種。期貨合約的買賣雙方,承諾於日後某個指定日期,以預先釐定的價格,買入或沽出指定數量的相關股份。現時,市面上並非所有與期貨合約都以實物交收。例,指數期貨合約一般以現金結算。

期貨合約術語

期貨合約雖然種類繁多,但它們亦有一些共同特性,市場對大部分在交 易所買賣的期貨合約,都有一系列常用的術語:

相關資產:

期貨合約可與不同的資產掛鉤,包括股票、指數、貨幣、利率,以及石油、豆類與黃金等。在香港交易所買賣的期貨為利率、外彙、黃金、股票和股票指數(例,恆生指數)期貨合約。

立約成價:

結算所就期貨合約所登記的價格,即合約的交易價。

合約乘數:

與立約成價相乘即計算出合約價值。現時,恆生指數及H股指數期貨合約的合約乘數每指數點$50;小型恆生指數期貨合約則為每指數點$10。在香港交易所買賣的股票期貨合約,等於相關股份的一手股數。

最後交易日:

期貨合約可在交易所買賣的最後日期。

最後結算日:

買賣雙方必須就期貨合約進行交收的日期。

最後結算價:

由結算所決定,用作計算期貨合約最終結算價值的價格。把最後結算價乘以合約乘數,計算出合約的最終結算價值。

結算方法:

期貨合約可以用現金或相關資產作實物交收。除了三年期的外彙基金債券期貨外,所有在香港交易所買賣的期貨合約均以現金結算。

期貨的一般作用

投資者買賣期貨一般基於以下三個原因。

方向性投資:

如預期股市上升,可買入相關期貨合約作方向性投資。如果最後結算價高於買入期貨合約時的立約成價,便能從中獲利。此外,在最後交易日或之前,若期貨合約在當時的價格高於買入時的立約成價,也可沽出相同的期貨合約,抵銷原有的長倉而獲利。相反,如預期股市下跌,可沽出相關期貨合約。

對衝:

對衝策略常用以抵銷負面因素對投資組合的整體回報所構成的影響。如預期相關資產價格上升,可利用「短倉對衝」的策略沽出適量相關期貨合約對衝投資組合價值下跌的風險。如預期相關資產價格上升,可利用「長倉對衝」的策略,買入與相關資產的期貨合約,鎖定將來買入該相關資產的價格。如屆時相關資產的價格上升,能以期貨合約預定地價格以低於當時市價買入相關資產。

利用期貨進行對衝時,緊記與合約的相關資產必須與投資組合的資產一致或近乎一致,才可有效對衝風險。例,恆指期貨不是對衝非恆指成分股的投資組合的理想工具。

套戥:

套戥指在相關資產於期貨及現貨市場的價格出現不尋常的差距時,透過在兩個市場低買高沽從中獲利。要進行套戥,可以同時在兩個市場進行相反的交易。

杠杆效應可能的負面影響 :

期貨是杠杆式的投資工具。杠杆效應既能使回報以杠杆的倍數增大,同時亦能使損失以杠杆的倍數增大。期貨交易能在短時間內贏取以倍數計的可觀回報,但同時亦可招致相同倍數的重大損失。因此,期貨合約較適合經驗豐富、自律性強的投資者參與。投資者應充分了解各期貨合約的特性及風險,確保有關期貨合約適合個人的財務狀況及風險承受能力,必要時應先咨詢你的專業投資顧問意見。